Dr Bates Gill, formerly Director of the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI), has been appointed Chief Executive Officer of the United States Studies Centre at the University of Sydney.


Dr Gates, who will succeed Professor Geoffrey Garrett,  is a distinguished think tank leader with strong policy links in the United States, Asia and Europe. His previous positions include serving as Freeman Chair in China Studies at the Center for Strategic and International Studies and as inaugural Director of the Center for Northeast Asian Policy Studies at the Brookings Institution, both in Washington DC.

The Victorian Government has announced the reappointment of Llew Vale as chairman of Goulburn-Murray Water (GMW) for another two years.

The Australian Stock Exchange (ASX) has appointed Roderic Holliday-Smith to succeed David Gonski as Chairman of Directors.


Mr Holliday-Smith will take the position as Mr Gonski departs the ASX Board to to take up his appointment as Chair of the Future Fund Board of Guardians on April 3.


Mr Holliday-Smith has served as a director of the ASX since 2006, prior to the merger of the ASX and SFE he was Chairman of SFE Corporation Limited from 1998.


Mr Holliday-Smith is considered a specialist in capital markets, derivatives and venture capital activities. He is Chairman of Cochlear Limited and a director of Servcorp Limited. He recently retired as Chairman of Snowy Hydro Limited.  Prior to 1998 Mr Holliday-Smith spent 11 years in Chicago, first as CEO of Chicago Research and Trading (CRT), and then as President of NationsBanc-CRT. During the 1980s he was an executive director with Wardley Australia Limited and Managing Director of Hong Kong Bank Limited, London.


Jetstar has announced the appointment of Barathan Pasupathi as the new Chief Executive Officer of the company’s Asia brand.

Mining exploration company Mindax has announced the appointment of Loh Kgai Mun as the company’s new director.

Leighton Holdings has announced the appointment of Ian Edwards to the role of Managing Director of Leighton Asia, India and Offshore (LAIO). Mr Edwards will replace Bob Cooke has been acting in the role since the appointment of Hamish Tyrwitt as CEO of Leighton Holdings.

The Federal Government has nominated long time consumer policy advocate Delia Rickard to become the Deputy Chairperson of the Australian Competition and consumer Commission (ACCC).

Myer has announced the retirement of Tom Flood from the company’s Board of Directors.

BlueScope Steel has announced a major reorganisation that will establish two businesses to focus on growth in the global pre-engineered building market and building products market.

News Limited chief executive Kim Williams has received the Australian Subscription Television and Radio Association’s third annual ASTRA Pioneer Award.

Kate Carnell will step down from as chief executive of the Australian Food and Grocery Council to take head up anti-depression charity Beyond Blue.

Vodafone has announced the appointment of Bill Morrow as the group’s new Chief Executive Officer of the Vodafone Hutchinson Australia (VHA) joint venture.

Telstra has announced that long serving CEO Bruce Akhurst will leave the company in May after 15 years of service.

The Financial Services sector is quickly becoming one of the key backers of the Federal Government’s Clean Energy Finance Corporation (CEFC) according to a new study released by Deloitte.

Banking and finance law specialist Ros Grady has been appointed as the inaugural Chief Executive of the Centre for International Finance and Regulation (CIFR), a consortium of leading Australian and international universities and research centres. She will take up her appointment on March 19.

Research conducted by the University of Sydney’s Business School has found that executives are increasingly relying on a multitude of smart technology to assist them in their daily work.

The Federal Government has announced it will host a new Business Advisory Forum, with CEO’s from the nation’s largest companies joining state, territory and Federal leaders to advise on deregulation.

Optus’ parent company SingTel has announced a ‘bold organisation’ restructuring in an attempt to capture emerging opportunities.

Aurecon has appointed Neil Proud as the company’s new Ports Leader to lead the company’s bulk handing ports design capability into the shipping container and general cargo market sectors.

Emerging ISP Exetel has announced the appointment of the company’s co-founder, Steve Waddington, to the role of Chief Operating Officer, after the passing of the company’s founder and CEO John Linton.

The Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) has called on companies to improve the disclosure of their remuneration arrangements for their directors and executives.

Archived News

RSS More »