Analysts have compiled a list of the most influential forces in Australia’s energy arena. 

The Australian Financial Review's compilation of key figures in Australia's energy transition encompasses a diverse group of leaders from government, business, and the financial sector. 

Each is considered to play a crucial role in navigating the complexities of moving towards a more sustainable energy future. 

The list includes:

Chris Bowen - As the climate change and energy minister, Bowen has been instrumental in advancing Australia's climate policies, including the implementation of a safeguard mechanism reform aimed at reducing emissions from heavy industries.

The States - State energy ministers play a vital role in executing the national energy transition plan, specifically SA's Tom Koutsantonis, Penny Sharpe from NSW, Queensland's Mick De Brenni, and Victoria's Lily D’Ambrosio, who is known for her opposition to fossil fuels.

Greg Combet - The chairman of the Future Fund and the Net Zero Authority, Combet is recognized for his involvement in supporting clean energy and manufacturing goals through significant financial resources.

Jo Evans - As a deputy secretary at the Department of Industry, Science, Energy, and Resources, Evans oversees crucial components of the climate agenda, including the safeguard mechanism and investments in renewable energy and hydrogen.

Gina Cass-Gottlieb - The chair of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC), Cass-Gottlieb made notable interventions in the Brookfield-Origin Energy takeover debate, emphasising the transition to clean energy.

Daniel Westerman - As the CEO of the Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO), Westerman is at the forefront of managing the energy transition, with responsibilities including the Integrated System Plan for energy investors.

Mike Cannon-Brookes - A software billionaire and green energy advocate, Cannon-Brookes is pushing for decarbonisation within AGL Energy, Australia's largest electricity supplier.

Mark Delaney - As AustralianSuper's chief investment officer, Delaney played a pivotal role in blocking Brookfield and EIG's takeover of Origin Energy, focusing on financing the energy transition.

Andrew Forrest - Owning significant renewable power assets through Squadron Energy and leading Fortescue's transition into a major green hydrogen producer, Forrest is a key figure in the energy sector.

The Yindjibarndi Community - Led by Michael Woodley, this Indigenous group is venturing into renewable energy projects in partnership with ACEN, aiming to develop and operate their own projects in the Pilbara.

Frank Calabria - The CEO of Origin Energy, Calabria faces the challenge of steering one of Australia's biggest energy suppliers through the energy transition.

Ian Learmonth - As the CEO of the Clean Energy Finance Corporation (CEFC), Learmonth plays a critical role in funding Australia's shift to renewable energy, including household energy efficiency projects.

The Miners - Including individuals like Chris Ellison and companies such as BHP, Rio Tinto, and Fortescue, this group is crucial for supplying metals needed for the energy transition.

Shemara Wikramanayake - The CEO of Macquarie Group, Wikramanayake oversees investments in renewable energy and other green initiatives, playing a significant role in the transition.

Adam Bandt - The leader of the Greens, Bandt pushes the boundaries of Australia's climate policy, advocating for more ambitious emission reduction targets.

Ted O’Brien - As a shadow climate change and energy spokesman, O'Brien has reignited the nuclear energy debate in Australia, advocating for small modular reactors.

Martijn Wilder - Chair of the National Reconstruction Fund, Wilder is tasked with ensuring that the energy transition also benefits Australian industries and regions.

David Morris - Heading the Environmental Defenders Office, Morris is involved in legal challenges that influence the direction of resource development and environmental protection.

Bill Bartee - Managing partner of Main Sequence Ventures, Bartee leads investments in climate tech startups, supporting innovations in decarbonisation.

Phil Hodgson - CEO of Calix, Hodgson's company is involved in developing low carbon technologies for industries like steel and cement, contributing to decarbonisation efforts.