The Federal Government has announced the appointment of John Stanhope as the new Chairman of Australia Post.


Federal Minister for Communications, Senator Stephen Conroy, welcomed the appointment of Mr Stanhope, who has been appointed for the next four years.



“Mr Stanhope brings to the role extensive experience in finance, commercial strategy and communications technology,” Senator Conroy said.



Mr Stanhope joined Australia Post and Telstra’s predecessor, the Postmaster General’s Department, in 1967.


Since then, he has held a number of operational roles and a range of senior financial management positions, including Chief Financial Officer of Telstra with responsibility for finance, taxation, risk management and assurance, and investor relations.


Mr Stanhope was on the Telstra board as Executive Director from 2009 until 2011, and served on the boards of Telstra subsidiaries including Foxtel, Sensis, TelstraClear and CSL New World Mobility. Mr Stanhope is currently a non-executive director of AGL Energy Ltd, the Bionics Institute and the Melbourne international Jazz Festival, and a council member of Deakin University.