The Federal Government has announced a number of key appointments to the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC).

"I am pleased to announce that the Administrator acting on behalf of the Governor-General has appointed Dr Michael Schaper, Ms Sarah Court and Ms Cristina Cifuentes as Commissioners of the ACCC, after they were approved by a majority of States and Territories," Assistant Treasurer David Bradbury said.

Dr Schaper’s reappointment as full-time Commissioner and Deputy Chairman will see him take the roles for a further five years.

Ms Court’s appointment is also for a five year period.