Three new people have joined the Climate Change Authority (CCA) as members after the Albanese government increased its responsibilities. 

Professor Lesley Hughes, Dr Virginia Marshall and Sam Mostyn have been “warmly” welcomed by CCA chair Grant King. 

“Their combined skills and experience will strengthen the capability of the authority and enable us to meet the expanded responsibilities we have under the new Climate Change Act,” Mr King said. 

The CCA is now responsible for advising Minister for climate change and energy Chris Bowen with an annual climate change statement.

“With this expanded membership, the authority is better placed to oversee emissions reduction efforts and provide government with expert advice,” Mr Bowen said. 

Mr King said the authority will also provide advice on the next nationally determined contribution, statutory reviews of the emissions reduction fund and the national greenhouse and energy reporting scheme, as well as research into carbon sequestration. 

“On behalf of the authority, I thank the minister for climate change and energy for his strong and collaborative engagement with, and support of, the work of the authority,” he said. 

Professor Hughes is a professor of biology at Macquarie University and former federal climate commissioner, Dr Marshall is an expert in Indigenous water rights, and Ms Mostyn is CEO at Chief Executive Women and was previously on the board of the Climate Council.