Former South Australian Premier, Mike Rann, has been appointed as Chair of the Board of Lower Carbon Australia.


Mr Rann is a member of the International Leadership Council, The Climate Group (UK) and the International Advisory Board, Ecological Sequestration Trust (UK). He brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to Low Carbon Australia, complementing current Board members.


Mr Rann will formally be elected as Chair of the Board at its June 2012 meeting.


Low Carbon Australia was established by the Federal Government to assist businesses, public sector organisations and consumers improve energy efficiency, reduce emissions and identify carbon neutral goods and services.


Mr Rann joins Board members Martijn Wilder, Linda Nicholls, Tanya Cox, Don Matthews and Anthony Coleman.